Progress.

July 14, 2010 at 7:55 am | Posted in Mythical #2, Sick Chronicles | 6 Comments

Day three of being home with O; J and I are splitting the workday. By the nature of our jobs it works best for the both of us when J goes to work in the morning and I go in the afternoon. I try not to be bitter by the fact that the gets to be home in the afternoon when O is sleeping, but I’m thankful it’s not just all me and we can split days.

O is getting better, slowly but surely. It’s heartbreaking to see how much pain he’s in – he was SO HUNGRY on Monday but just couldn’t eat. Yesterday we discovered that he seems to do okay with pasta, blueberries, and very watered down juice. And the sores on his tongue seem to be getting better.

But he still cries when he eats. And in his sleep, periodically. That’s been the hardest part for me, seeing just how much pain it’s been causing him. Poor kiddo.

I don’t know if he’ll be well enough to go back to school tomorrow, but we’ll take it a day at a time. I won’t be sending him back until he’s mostly himself again, though. If that means he’s home for the full week, so be it.

________________________

I’m having a hard time understanding my emotions when I consider cycling again. After meeting with Dr. HIT, I came out… well, sort of excited about the prospect of being pregnant. And I have moments where I see siblings together, or I think about how much I love my own brother and sister, and I get all sort of verklempt when I think about O having that relationship with a sibling.

I think I’m starting to see glimpses of the LOVE I know I’ll have for another child. Which, thankfully, helps negate some of the FEAR.

And so out of the blue last night, J wanted to talk plans for cycling and what that means. Right now we think we’re going to aim at a September cycle. It would put me in my 2ww and/or CD 1 for my half marathon, but that doesn’t really worry me.

Mostly because I like to think that if I was lucky enough to get pregnant, I’d continue to run (to the extent that I could, of course).

But. A cycle. In September. That’s not that far away.

Slowly, we’re making progress.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m glad he’s getting better. Poor mite.

    September is not far at all. I’m glad you’re starting to get into the right mind-space. Hopefully you will have your zen well and truly flying by the time you’re due to start.

    Bea

  2. Poor little guy! Seeing him in pain must be heartbreaking!

    The Sick Kid Mumbo–know it well. It works best for us if hubs takes mornings, I take afternoons…but usually he is the one that can get her to take naps–I am the “fun” one so she won’t sleep. 😉

    September sounds like a good month. Wishing you the best.

  3. Poor little guy. That sounds horrendous. I hope the sores clear up soon. And September sounds like a great month to cycle. It will be here before you know it. I’m pulling for you!

    xo

  4. Oh, poor guy. 😦

    Fear, excitement…. I think it’s all intertwined now. But I’m glad you’re seeing more of the excitement!

  5. feel better O, I’m sending some HUGS up….I’m so sad you’re sick,

    all those emotions all mixed up…sounds just about right for IF women doesn’t it? However, I know that the closer it gets , the more excited you’ll be . I’m thinking of you.

  6. Glad to hear some excitement is creeping in there. September will be here before you know it, and with it will come ALL emotions. The good ones, the bad ones, and the freaky ones.
    You will continue to run. You may take it slower (hehe) but you won’t stop completely.

    Glad O is starting to feel better. Good luck tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

