Moving right along.

August 17, 2010 at 3:52 pm | Posted in Career angst, Cheese with that whine? (aka rants), milestones, motherhood | 6 Comments

Yeah, yeah, WAH, I hate my job.

Blah blah blah.

STFU, Serenity.

You have a job.

Fine. The environment is fairly toxic there, and you have zero passion for it, and the opportunities for growth are lacking a bit.

But it’s a job.

(So I’ll shut my trap and we can move on.)

_____________________________

O is obsessed with his Elmo potty time DVD right now.

Not so much with USING the potty – he still refuses whenever we ask (and we’ve asked less and less over time. I really don’t want to push it.)

But he loves to watch Muppets talk about using the potty.

Honestly, it’s good for me too, because in the DVD, the Muppets basically just stand there and say you’re okay if you use the potty, if you have an accident, or if you’re NOT using the potty.

It’s sort of a take on unconditional acceptance of where your kid is right now.

And I get the sense that O’s gathering information. Maybe I’m just trying to make myself better, but he loves to TALK about using the potty. He just doesn’t really want to DO anything yet.

So we’ll keep watching the DVD as much as he wants.

Personally, I think the songs are pretty catchy.

_______________________________

So I got a call from daycare yesterday – O had two very loose diapers and a massive rash to go with it. I had to leave early to get him, and this morning he couldn’t go back to school because “there’s something going around” which gives toddlers the runs.

Poor kiddo. Despite a LOT of string cheese, and bananas, and rice, it doesn’t look like it’s stopping anytime soon.

So multiple times today I’ve found myself changing a completely destroyed diaper…

… while listening to Elmo croon: “You’ll Use the POTTTTTTTYYYYYYY!”

The irony is not lost on me.

______________________________

In summary: Life is pretty shitty.

But we’re okay.

[snort]

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hahahaha!! šŸ™‚

    No worries, Ethan is reallllly not there either.

  2. I was just at the doc for my own cough poop cough issues, and half-way through the converstaion realzied that I didn’t think it was weird to be talking about poop because that is all I do normally. Just not my OWN poop. Sigh.

  3. I’m with you on the job thing. I try to remind myself that I should be thankful to have a job, but it’s tough when you’re miserable. Believe me, I know. Hang in there, sweetie.

  4. Aitch had a blowout the morning we left for vacation. I stuffed her full of bananas, cheese and apple sauce…and then she didn’t poop for two more days. Apparently it was a fluke, but still!

  5. Oh, well, you are ahead of us. I’m sure the toilet training will sort out one way or another, eventually. Hopefully the illness will go much sooner than that!

    Bea

  6. Lousy economy or not, a demoralizing job is a demoralizing job.

    Hope O. feels better soon (I nearly typed “baby O”!)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

