Simple.

August 24, 2010 at 11:57 am | Posted in motherhood, My life | 13 Comments

Whenever I change O’s diaper, I have him stand up at the end so I can pull up and fasten his pants.

And just last week, when I did this, for the first time ever.

He threw his arms around me in a hug, rested his head on my shoulder, and said “I love you, Mommy.”

I very nearly combusted on the spot with love.

I think too much, I know I do.

When I feel something, I have to take it out and LOOK at it. I wonder “Why is it that I”m feeling this way?” I analyze it. What did I DO to feel this way? I count how many times I’ve felt that way before. I ask myself if it’s something I need to FIX. I figure out how to feel that way again and/or feel it less.

O, on the other hand, just FEELS.

He loves me.

Simply.

Unconditionally.

There is so much that he is teaching me.

He teaches me how to live in the moment.

How to enjoy the feeling of a mud puddle between my bare toes.

How to imagine that a stick can be a sprinkler, how to run with abandon through it without regard for what the neighbors may think.

How a ride on a tricycle to the river and back on a Friday night is a good before-dinner treat, even if it means food waits for longer than it should.

How cool it is to blow bubbles into the wind.

How a simple hug and three words can change someone’s entire DAY.

I say this entirely too often, but I’m still overwhelmed with gratitude whenever I consider my son.

I am so, so lucky.

It’s that simple.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sean was 2 years, 10 months, and 1 day old when he first told me he loved me for no reason at all. He just walked up to me while playing and said, “I love you Mommy.” He didn’t just change my day that day. He changed my whole life. Again. I will never, ever forget it. And I bet neither will you. ❤

  2. Whew. I need a tissue!

    xo

  3. yep, those are days that your whole life changes, your whole perspective.

    *happy tears*

  4. Sometimes kids are actually very good! lol

  5. Aw, this is such a great age!. Mel said something yesterday in her post about graduation that really struck me yesterday because at 2 this is really the beginning of thas phase “They love so deeply and they don’t even have the ability to understand that yet.” This is a perfect example of that!

  6. TEARS…

  7. Beautiful post. How complex yet simple are our children.

  8. Beautiful. I think we can all learn a lot from the little ones.

  9. Love it.

  10. Aaaw that is just beautiful.

  11. So sweet! The child’s ability to just “be” is beautifully discussed in the book “Momma Zen.”

  12. I don’t think you can say it too often! Beautiful post!

  13. Such a gorgeous post! Such a gorgeous boy for saying it. I’m so glad you’ve had (and recorded!) this moment.

    Bea


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

