Holiday Cheer.

December 21, 2010 at 6:00 am | Posted in My life | 16 Comments

In case it hasn’t been self-evident (ahem: see previous posts), I haven’t been dripping with holiday cheer at chez Serenity lately.

The back sixth of 2010 has sort of kicked my ass.

However. I’m not so far gone where I can’t sit back and at least recognize my blessings.

Here’s what I know.

I am blessed with a loving husband. Who cooks, cleans, does dishes, tells me he loves me every day, still ogles when I take off my shirt, stretchmarks and saggy belly and all. He may not be perfect, but he’s pretty damn near close.

I have a son who validates my very existence on this Earth. Every single day.

I have an family who loves me and wishes me happiness.

I have an amazing support system of close friends of whom I can rely in my darkest moments.

I am physically healthy, which affords me my emotional and mental outlet – running.

I have a fairly secure job which pays pretty well, affording us the means to pay our bills, with amounts left over for travel to visit friends and family.

And I have this community, which, even after more than 5 years of blogging, has sustained me during the times where my world has been turned upside down.

Ultimately, I DO have a lot in my life for which I am thankful.

So this week? I’m going to focus on the good things in my life.

I’ll sip eggnog while snuggling on the couch with my husband in front of our Christmas tree and listen to my favorite Christmas album.

I’ll savor the christmas cookies, and not feel guilty for having three of the ones with the jelly centers that I like best.

I’ll sing Jingle Bells with my son for the umpteen millionth time, and play his game of “find the next set of pretty Christmas lights!” every time we’re in the car.

I’ll listen to my Pandora Christmas carols, and tear up when I hear my favorites that remind me of Christmas past.

And I’ll remember that grief is is the yin of LOVE. Without that love, my life would look bleak indeed.

So.

Happy Holidays to every one of you, dear readers.

Thank you for being a part of my life.

xoxo

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. And thank you Serenity. Happy Holidays x

  2. And to you, too! Well put, indeed. Enjoy those biscuits (she says, through her chocolate).

    Bea

  3. Have an extra cookie for me!!
    Happy Holidays!

  4. Happy Holidays, Serenity. To a happy and healthy new year!

  5. Happy Holidays to you too!

    Me, I’d be proud of myself if I stopped at 3 cookies.

  6. This is beautiful, Serenity. I hope you know how amazing I think you are. Happy holidays … and I’m with Deborah … I left the third cookie behind ages ago, and have since lost count.

  7. Happy Holidays, my friend! And is it bad that I’m laughing my ass off right now, because under the heading of “Possibly Related Posts,” is one called “Go To Hell” (?). Holiday Cheer, indeed ;-).
    Oh, and for the record, don’t beat yourself up for allowing yourself to feel just a wee bit of grief. Feeling sad for what isn’t or what should’ve been does not, in any way, mean you don’t appreciate what is. Big hugs!

  8. Happy Holidays, Serenity! I know there is a lot that isn’t so great, but there is so much that is and I’m glad you are taking some time to remember that!

  9. Merry Christmas my beautiful friend.
    Your place in my world is a gift I get to open every day .

    Ho, Ho, Ho with an extra Jelly center 😉
    xoxoxoox

  10. Happy holidays, Serenity! I couldn’t put “a husband who cooks, cleans, and does dishes” on my blessings list. ; )

  11. I’m thankful for you too, Serenity. Your comments always make me feel loved.

  12. Merry Christmas!!!

  13. Wishing you a blessed Christmas. Enjoy the time with you family. I pray that 2011 will hold good things for you.

  14. And happy holidays to you, too!

  15. Happy Holidays! Thanks for helping me remember all the blessings I DO have!

  16. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! I hope this is a very very good one for you. Hang in there and keep counting those blessings!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

