Cycle update.

January 12, 2011 at 10:29 am | Posted in IVF #4: I'm STILL doing this? | 9 Comments

For my own records (and those of you following at home), I went to my clinic for bloodwork yesterday.

My day three E2 level was 148.

For comparison, IVF #2 (the one cancelled for overstimulation) day three result was 304, and IVF #3 (the low, slow, conservative protocol) was 63.

Right smack in the middle. Not too high, not too low.

Thus far, anyway.

I go back in on Friday for my first wanding + more bloodwork.

Side effects are fairly minimal, with the exception of the fact that for the past two days I’ve gotten a headache in the afternoon. I am starting to feel my ovaries, as well, though I know it’s going to get a lot more uncomfortable in the coming days.

Suddenly I’m happy I have been focusing on swimming and yoga this week and that there’s currently 7 or 8 inches of snow on the ground (with more to go – yay blizzards!).

If things go the way they did last cycle, based on E2 alone, we’re on target for a retrieval for next Tuesday or so.

Of course, there’s a lot that needs to line up in order for that to happen.

But less than a week. And then I’m done with shots FOREVER.

Because if there’s one thing this process has taught me? I am done with IVF. This WILL be my last fresh cycle ever.

I can do anything for a week.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Following along quietly cheering you on. I am a regular reader, but comment far too infrequently. And meant to De-lurk during de-lurking week, but didn’t- so now I am. I appreciate your writing style and your honesty.

    Hoping the next days go quickly for you and everything keeps going smoothly.

  2. Swimming? Yuck. I can’t do that. But, it is one of the activities my RE condones during IVF cycles. Interestingly, my accupuncturist does not.

    One week. that’s it. A good mantra. I’ll have to try that when I start stims next week.

    I wish you lived closer, too! I’ll have some mint oreo tonight in honorance of you. Of course, since none of my pants fit…maybe I should try to lay off the chocolate/sweets/alcoholic food group.

    :>

  3. This cycle (well at least this part of it) will be over before you know. I am glad you’re SMACK dab in the middle and feeling those ovaries, taking care of yourself and knowing that you’re almost on the other side.
    HUGS

  4. Yes, you CAN do anything for a week (and I’m hoping you then have to do something for 40 weeks!).

    I totally get the feeling of being D.O.N.E. I so was with the donor egg cycle and subsequent canceled DEFET. DONE! But, as I learned, being done with ART doesn’t necessarily mean being done.

    Here is hoping that your outcome is positive and successful!

  5. Following along on this journey and really hoping it works for you this month!!! Fingers crossed for you and your family.

  6. “I can do anything for a week”

    Spoken like a true IVF warrier. Keep on keeping on, Serenity!

  7. Looking good so far and hoping it will be a smooth ride for you until retrieval. And then another smooth ride for say 8-9 months.

  8. Yay! I was surprised at how quickly the stims phase went by. Hopefully you’ll get all the way to retrieval with fantastic numbers and minimal side effects. And then well beyond that too.

  9. Stims go so quickly. I think it would be very tough to juggle a fresh cycle plus caring for a toddler plus work plus everything else. IVF takes a lot of energy. So I can understand that you would not want another fresh cycle. I hope you don’t have to make that decision.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

