Still got it. *Now with an update!*

January 14, 2011 at 9:59 am | Posted in IVF #4: I'm STILL doing this? | 13 Comments

(Or: Still Overachieving.)

(Or: Cycle Update.)

Had my day 6 wanding and bloodwork at my clinic this morning.

It’s the first ultrasound of the cycle, so I was interested to see what was going on.

I can FEEL my ovaries, though it’s not uncomfortable yet – so I sort of knew that things were happening in there.

Turns out my ovaries are totally young at heart.

I have approximately 15 measurable follicles and scores others which are not quite measurable yet.

The ultrasound tech told me: You know, when I see someone’s age on their flow sheet, I have a bit of an expectation of what I’ll see. You totally surprised me, given your age. Your ovaries are MUCH younger than 35.

So yeah. Ovaries are doing well.

The biggest follicle is only 15mm, though, so I have a few days left yet.

But it probably means my E2 has risen significantly as well. I’m thinking it’s between 1200-1500 right now, but given how many follicles I had? Maybe higher.

I’m half expecting a call today telling me to scale back my dosage today.

Wouldn’t it be funny, at 35, to be cancelled for overstimulation?

*sigh*

I’ll keep you all posted when I hear from my clinic.

___________________________

Eeek – time got away from me. My clinic called at lunch, everything looks “great.” E2 today was 866.

I’m to keep doing what I’m doing and go back in on Sunday.

When I asked about overstimulation, my nurse said No worries on that yet. Eat more protein and keep hydrated.

So as of right now, things are looking pretty good.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s great! I’m so jealous!!

  2. Good news. I know you said you’ll never do another fresh cycle again (and I’m glad you did this one, because now you KNOW). But would you do a FET, if you had to? Of course, I’m hoping all the stars are aligned and you don’t have to. But so many follicles… that bodes well. Wishing you luck!

  3. That’s great! Hopefully those sprightly ovaries are cooking up some magic!

  4. Glad to hear you are ovaries are kicking booty at 35. I need that encouragement now that I am of the advanced maternal age as well…

  5. I’ll say you still got it.

    I’m having pangs of jealousy (even though I am over ART and, at 45, no longer want to be pregnant with my own eggs) at just the idea of cycling and the possibility that pregnancy could be around the corner.

    Continued good luck!

  6. Whoa, girl! What spectacular ovaries you’ve got! Totally jealous here but happy for you and hoping that you won’t get canceled for overstimulation.

  7. well you are an overachiever in every other part of your life sweets.

    it’s GOOD NEWS…hang in there….I’m holding Hope for you. 🙂

  8. Sounds fantastic! I’m feeling all kinds of hopeful over here.

  9. Cheering you on! Keep up the good work!!

  10. go, ovaries!

  11. Sounds good!

  12. Whoo hoo!

  13. Super OVARIES coming to an action-movie near you.

    That’s great news.

    Now, E2, you just have to stay in check so we can bust out some good eggies next week!

    Interesting to know re: protein and H20, although…I NEVER have anything near overstimulation.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

