Trigger Happy.

January 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm | Posted in IVF #4: I'm STILL doing this? | 17 Comments

(Or: REALLY FRICKING HAPPY to trigger.)

Walking into my clinic this morning was PAINFUL.

My ovaries are damn swollen.

The ultrasound tech looked at me after clicking away for an eternity and told me that she saw 18 follicles – 10 on one side, 8 on the other.

And at the end, she said, sort of helplessly: they’re all big.

I think she saw an unanswerable question on my face.

When the heck do I get to trigger?

Tonight, apparently. At 9pm.

YAY!!!!

My E2 came in at 4300 today, which is a bit higher than I would have liked to see it. Because I know first hand how hard it is to recover from overstimulation.

And that number means it’s going to take me a couple of days to recover.

BUT.

I have 18 follicles, which is a damn good number. Which means that it increases the likelihood of getting one good blastocyst to transfer.

And it also means that there’s a light at the end of the tunnel: that I won’t feel this uncomfortable for that much longer.

Even better? This is the LAST TIME I have to feel this way.

Ever.

There’s such relief in that thought.

Retrieval is Wednesday morning, 8am.

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Glad to hear you finally get to trigger! And 18 follicles is great!

  2. Yay! GOOD LUCK!

  3. All right!! Good luck!

  4. YAY! Awesome news, S. I am cheering you on from Florida. Can you hear me? 🙂

    xoxo

  5. I’m particularly glad about the light … hang in there and breathe.

  6. So relieved for you that trigger day is finally here. hoping your recovery goes quicker and easier than you expect.

  7. All the best for Wednesday.

  8. that’s awesome news….it really is.
    Wednesday, I can hardly wait!!!!

    thinking of you sweets

  9. Wooohooo! Good luck on Wednesday!

  10. The numbers look great – hoping you can keep the severe OHSS at bay. Good luck.

  11. Hurrah for trigger, and wishing you a smooth recovery with no OHSS this time.

    Bea

  12. Wow, such GREAT news! Congrats on your body doing it’s best for you, one last time!

  13. OMG….my ovaries are having sympathy pains for you. It has been years, but I STILL remember how I felt with 13…..18 I would be crying!

  14. YAY!! Best of luck!

  15. Best wishes! Have a great nap! We started trying for our second IVF miracle after our first miracle turned one. After chasing her around all day, I was completely stoked about my “nap” during the retrieval. Such a change from the terror of the first IVF. Again, best wishes!!!

  16. Wow 18! Hoping for an easy retrieval with no side affects.

  17. Good luck!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

