The moment.

January 26, 2011 at 10:59 am | Posted in Battles (aka: toddlerhood) | 13 Comments

It’s morning.

Cold. Foggy.

We’re due for another foot of fricking snow.

I still have hyperstimulation issues: my belly is distended and sore and I can’t really walk very well.

And I put on another two pounds overnight, which means I still have issues with fluid.

O was up at 5:40 this morning.

And I confess. I ignored him at first.

He called out Mommy?

Softer, but then louder and louder.

And when I heard the catch in his voice?

I groaned myself awake and went into his room.

He was up for the day.

Not happily, mind you.

No, our morning was fraught with DRAMA.

Tantrums and yelling and crying and throwing things and falling down and faking tears.

And screaming No Mommy! and pushing me away.

I nearly lost it.

Until the last time he “fell down” and lay splayed out on the floor, looking up at me with his fake hurt sad look.

When did he get to be this big?

So I pulled him off the floor and into my lap, facing me.

And I hugged him.

He sat in my arms, his head resting on my chest.

Quiet.

In that moment?

I was reminded.

I am so lucky to have him.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sometimes, they just want to be held…which seems crazy when they’re being so “bad”. Give him big hugs and kisses:>

    Now I miss my little guy. Wah.

  2. We have so many mornings like that and yeah sometimes a hug can do the trick. I’m sorry your still not feeling well.

  3. *tears*
    You are so very lucky.

    xo

  4. I. has had her share of screeching AM starts lately, and yeah, usually some extra cuddling solves nearly every thing. But it is SO hard to remember that when you’ve had such a rough morning.

    Sorry about the weight gain. You must be feeling so uncomfortable. : (

  5. I am struck, yet again, by the similarities in our lives. As my son approaches 4, the full on tantrums have lessened but have given way to the long whine and crocodile tears when he doesn’t want to do something (go to school, brush his teeth, get dressed, get undressed, go potty, take a nap…).

    And, even in my most frustrated times, I am grateful to have him to love.

  6. And he’s lucky to have you. πŸ™‚

    So very true–when we just don’t think we can handle it anymore, they show us why we have them in the first place.

    Hope you feel better soon!

  7. I’m glad you had that moment (although it would’ve been nice a little later in the morning). Sometimes I get all stressed in advance about the time when J will no longer want to cuddle all the time. Two and a half isn’t easy, but the benefits are amazing. πŸ™‚

  8. I admit to having had less… uplifting responses some mornings. I am not a morning person. You’ve done very well, especially under the circumstances. I’m so glad you were able to have that moment.

    Bea

  9. What a perfect and sweet moment. Sometimes the best ones aren’t the textbook variety. πŸ™‚

  10. Just a little drop by to let you know that your comment made me laugh out loud! Colin Firth is *quite* the little hottie. Have loved him since his Masterpiece Theatre days.

  11. Sometimes they don’t know they want to be held … and sometimes, I think, neither do we.

  12. A beautiful moment.

  13. oh oh oh…this is exactly how I feel lately, that they want and need me, but they push me away too..it’s sooooo dramatic being 3. I loved this post…I loved loved loved it.
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

