Top Ten Reasons Why OHSS Isn’t THAT Bad.

January 27, 2011 at 12:03 pm | Posted in IVF #4: I'm STILL doing this? | 16 Comments

10. You get out of shoveling the yet-another-foot of New England snow and can burrow deeper into the flannel sheets and down comforter while your husband grumbles out there in the dark.

9. The lack of caffeinated coffee in the morning means no post-lunch crash.

8. Drinking that much gatorade makes you feel like you’re some sort of hard core athlete – and you keep people at Gatorade employed, nearly single-handedly.

7. Cheez-its at 9am. (Need I say more?)

6. Figuring out NOW what sort of clothes in your wardrobe works to camouflage what looks like a 12-15 week belly such that your coworkers don’t notice.

5. New business idea that emerges from visual inspection of your pee every time you visit the bathroom: visual coding of urine concentration.

4. Your clinic forbidding you to engage in exercise of any kind means that the earliest your alarm clock rings is 6am, instead of the 4:30 it rings when you have to do your 5-6 mile runs.

3. A gain of 1-2lbs is easily excused as fluid issues, not the pizza and ice cream you had the day before.

2. You don’t feel bad leaving the dishes in the sink and instead watch TV under a blanket on the couch at night.

1. You still have a chance of being pregnant.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love this and I think about you daily. Sending hope your way.

  2. LOL! Thinking of you! (And yeah, I am sick of this snow already!)

  3. Pizza is VERY healthy, it has tomatoes, right??

    I love these reasons…but actually instill them while just doing IVF in general. And, man, oh, man…4:30 AM? Are you doing these runs outside or on a treadmill??

    • Outside. But a 4:30 am wakeup means I actually get OUT of bed at 4:45 and outside at 5. Which means I’m back at 6 and stretch, cool down, etc, until shower. And then J can leave for work at 7.

  4. That’s a pretty good list. πŸ™‚ And sometimes just making the list helps you feel better.

  5. LOL! This proves that there is a bright side to everything. πŸ™‚

    xo

  6. That’s why I love you; always looking for the silver lining πŸ™‚

  7. See? A break! LOL But really, it’ll be fine. This is the time I had the worst symptoms of hyperstim (12+ lbs in two days! yay!) and I got pregnant. Maybe the down time will do you good?! Something! πŸ™‚

    Also…since I have similar overstimming issues, I was curious to know…how many did you end up freezing and were they ok quality? I might have missed you saying, but I don’t remember it. And HOPEFULLY you don’t have to worry about it!

  8. I’m hoping the 2ww is passing quickly for you and am glad you are feeling better as you recover from OHSS.

  9. Thank you SO much for your post on my blog. I’m going to take very last bit of advice you left. Thanks for helping me navigate this – not so alone.

    I’m laying horizontal and keeping Gatorate in business. This post also made me feel better about the OHSS.

  10. Love this post.

    Although I have to break it to you that someone has already beaten you to #5. You can get a peestick for that. Ooh! Maybe you could get some of those peesticks yourself? To satisfy any stick-peeing cravings you might have before time? Of course, if you want accuracy, you’re better off with a refractometre.

    Anyway, you’re right that the longer this drags on, the more hopeful it starts sounding… fingers crossed that’s hCG driving the process along. Good, solid hCG levels from a good, solid embryo. I can stir the tea leaves and hope, right?

    Bea

  11. LOL. I like #1.

  12. Nice spin.

    I’ll admit as I followed along with your experience, I started padding my work schedule even more- just to be on the safe side in case I need to take off more days. My nurse said I only needed to plan to take off the day of hte ER- but I’m skeptical.

  13. Huzzah for positivity … I particularly like the shoveling bit, though I seem not to have played my cards effectively enough there this week! Fingers xx’d for you.

  14. πŸ™‚
    xoxo

  15. my favorite reason….#1!!!!

    *HUGS*


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

