Cycling.

February 16, 2011 at 5:06 am | Posted in FET #6: Another Chance | 14 Comments

Got the call from my clinic two days ago that we were cleared for a frozen cycle by our insurance.

I took my last birth control pill on Monday night, and whenever I get AF, we’ll start estrace and the vivelle patch.

We’ll aim at doing the transfer on Friday, 3/11, when my own RE is on call.

If I’m being honest?

Her call actually infused me with a measure of excitement.

Because it means another chance.

A FET means a break from the hard core meds and sick of OHSS. Means I can keep up my exercise throughout the cycle. Means I can live my life without daily hour-long trips to the clinic, ovary tenderness, injections, and follistem headaches.

But it’s not a wasted cycle. There’s still a chance that we could get pregnant, because we’re transferring an embryo into Ute.

(And yes, we have decided that a SET is the only way we can approach this cycle, no matter how good or bad both look on transfer day. Unreliable uterus plus a distinct lack of interest in seriously considering selective reduction = Being Responsible. We can control the number of embryos that go INTO my uterus. It’s really the only decision that we can make, and it feels right.)

For whatever reason, I’ve let go of the anger that we need to cycle again. Maybe it was Mary Ellen pointing out that I’m trying to punish myself for needing IVF. Maybe it’s wanting to feel open to hope because I’m tired of feeling down and sad and scared all the time.

Whatever it is, I hope it’s something I can hold onto as we start the cycle.

And in that vein, I’ve tagged FET #6 in a different way. Another chance.

I have hope. This might work.

It might not, too.

But we’d be no worse off than we are now if it doesn’t work.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay for a fresh start! Go cycle go!!

  2. I have hope for you, S.
    I really do.

    xo

  3. Glad you are on your way.

    Since they are frozen two to a straw does that mean they will refreeze one?

    • V – No, they won’t refreeze the extra. If both survive the thaw they’ll have to discard the one we don’t want to transfer. (Part of the reason why I have such a hard time making the choice to only do one.)

  4. I am hoping for you.

  5. Hope hope hope hope hope – stay on top of hope it’s the sure way to go.

  6. Sounds like a great plan and I am crossing everything for you! If (and really hoping this is not the case) you end up doing a fresh cycle in the future, couldn’t they freeze any excess blasts one per straw? That is what my clinics have always done for me, since I’m another member of the elective SET club.

    Your attitude is so much like mine. I do get angry about having to go through such a protracted series of SETs to get one to work out…but somehow when insurance approval is in and the calendar is set up, that anger disappears and is replaced with hope. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. there’s a lot to be said for hope. *hug*

  8. Another chance. Absolutely! You get to transfer the stronger of two defrosted blasts. There’s a lot of hope in that. I’ll be enjoying hope vicariously through your cycle ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Here’s hoping, then. : )

  10. That’s great news! How exciting! All the best ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Frozen is *so* much easier. Here’s to hope….that insiduous, tantalizing wonder.

  12. I know that the FET is a much easier cycle for you and I ma just hoping that this is IT, the one that makes all these words worth it…
    I like that you are positive and UP..
    HOLDING THE HOPE!

  13. I’ll be wishing you the best of luck.

    Bea


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

