Meet Nemo.

March 11, 2011 at 4:08 pm | Posted in FET #6: Another Chance | 23 Comments

We have never had an issue with embryo quality. Whenever we’ve done a thaw cycle, we’ve had a 100% thaw rate.

So J and I have named all of our embryos. Starting with the first letter of the alphabet, we’ve gone through the letters to N.

Before now, anyway, we’ve always had chance to name ALL of them.

Not today, though.

They thawed 6 embryos to get to this one. Five did not survive the thaw.

After my doctor told us, J shook his head and said: Wait. Do we have to name all of them?

I quickly amended our naming rule to only cover embryos which have been transferred. We don’t name dead ones.

Five didn’t survive.

This guy did, though.

And we call him Nemo. Because he was the only one of his group that survived. And he’s not perfect – he’s got a gimpy fin.

(I mean, he’s not ALL bad. My doctor says he’d give it a B+ or A- if he were grading it himself.)

Transfer itself went okay – was more painful than usual, but he had no issues getting the catheter in.

We have one straw left with 2 embryos of questionable quality.

Which means that the next cycle will most definitely be a fresh one.

But. I’m getting ahead of myself.

My beta is Sunday morning, March 20. Which happens to be the weekend we are celebrating O’s 3rd birthday.

And so that I can keep my focus on the family I DO have, I have decided that I will not pee on a stick before my beta.

I’m surrendering the pee sticks given to me by my friend D to my best friend, who will keep them in hiding for me.

Now?

We wait.

23 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Nemo looks gorgeous. Hoping for an easy wait for you.

  2. very apt … “just keep swimming.”

  3. I love the name. Nemo is a survivor. May he flourish.

  4. Hang on tight, Nemo!! we are rooting for you.

    and kudos to you for swearing off Peesticks. In the wise words you wrote to me- “And that my friend is why peesticks are EVIL.”

    • ASOG – You’re actually part of the reason! I had the same thing happen in November when I had faint lines on pee sticks and I was CONVINCED it was a chemical. Just not worth it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      xoxo

  5. Fingers crossed.

  6. Hoping for you and Nemo. xx

  7. Waiting here with you. Hugs.

  8. Nemo is a great name for this little survivor.

    I will be waiting here with you.

    Also, I totally agree with the no pee sticks rule. I will never touch them again after the stupid things gave me two negatives before our beta.

    What are your plans for O’s b-day?

  9. No matter how many you had to thaw to get one to transfer, this one is a survivor. Fingers crossed for Nemo.

  10. Nice to meet you, Nemo! Hope to meet you “in person” in November! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hoping some good news is around the corner for you. Good, definitive, absolutely certain, no limbo news. I hope you all plan a nice day together on the 20th when you’re waiting for your news.

    As always, fingers crossed. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Excellent name, for many reasons. Also, I have a freakish memory (and/or I’m a stalker) but wasn’t O named after a character from Nemo when he was in utero? Seems like a good omen to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Good luck!

  13. Keep swimming, keep swimming, keep swimming!

  14. Hang on Nemo – we’re all rooting for you!

  15. Happy… well, good luck with the wait.

    Bea

  16. Hope little Nemo sticks around! Good luck!

  17. So sorry I missed all this. Hoping Nemo is snuggling in – sorry they had to go through so many to get the one. Hope there’s no fresh cycle in your future.

  18. Keep the faith! I have three alive and well Nemo’s and our embryologist always told us he puts his money on the “Nemo’s” every time!

  19. Neno is perfect of its own way! Go nemo go!

  20. Good luck, Serenity!

  21. Hang on lil Nemo! Love the name and good luck!

  22. HI Nemo…it would make me very very happy if you’d hang around.
    love you….INTERNET AUNTIE KIR.xo


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

