Marathon Training: Week One.

May 15, 2011 at 4:00 am | Posted in And I ran (I ran so far away), Heartbreak | 3 Comments

I had to do something to shake up my life and get back some sense of control and trust in the world and along the way fill the hollow space. I needed to rebel against those negative forces, to scream so loud and for so long that the anger living inside me would evacuate forever. But instead of screaming, I ran.

— Gail Kislevitz

This was the defining quote from the week; I used my runs both to grieve AND forget about grieving.

Week two of starting back up running seriously is ALWAYS hard. Happened a month or so ago, too. I was back into regular form when I had to quit before retrieval. So I was prepared that physically this week would be a rough one.

And it was.

Training mileage this week was 20. Ran Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday – the first 4 day week I’ve had since last summer.

Monday – 3 miles – 28:53

This was my first run after having AF, which meant I was able to go faster. I distinctly ran this loop backwards so that it was mostly downhill – it’s a great confidence-builder. Ended this run in sobs as my theme song came on, but it was a GOOD cry.

Tuesday – 4 miles – 38:59

This run pretty much sucked. I was tired from Monday’s run, so my legs ACHED when I slowed down. Consequently I kept pushing the pace too fast. Hard tough go of it. Was happy that Wednesday was a rest day.

Thursday – 4 miles – 38:40

Another tough run. About the only good thing I could say about it at the end was that it was over.

Saturday – 3 miles – 28:57

Decided to do the confidence-building downhill run. Was tired, though – happy it was just a three.

Sunday – 6 miles – 1:01:37

This ended up being my reward for the tough runs this week. Since most of my short runs this week were fast, the goal for today was to be SLOWER. I was aiming for 10-10:30 minute miles.

And holy crap what a difference it made. I don’t know if my musles are finally starting to figure it out, but this run was awesome – full of moments that made me fall back in love with running again. This loop is a hilly one, but it’s back on some country roads near my house and makes me feel sometimes like I’m the only one who lives in my town. Woods, fields, etc. Pretty damn awesome.

Overall, I’m happy with the way things went this week. Right now I’m down to my pre-cycling weight from last fall, but I’m hoping to lose 5-7 more lbs. Lighter = easier to run.

Physically I was exhausted this week. Thursday night into Friday I slept through the night without waking to pee even once. When J’s alarm woke me at 5:30, I realized I had slept the entire night in my contacts. So I’m definitely still adjusting to the miles.

This week’s mileage will be 21 miles, including a 5 mile race with my friend Heather next Sunday. Am hoping that my shorter runs are a little easier, physically. But I’m trying to maintain and let my body adjust to the schedule. I will also be running 5 days this week: Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday and Saturday/Sunday.

But I can’t tell you how much better I feel, emotionally, having something like this to focus on. My friend Kate at More Room In My Heart sent me two books on racing – one on getting faster, the other on optimal weight for athletes. I’ve finalized my training plan and finally feel good about having structure to my runs – something I’ve been missing since last fall.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m really glad that you have this healthy outlet to take out your grief and frustration and to give you something to focus on. Sounds like your first week back was great!

  2. Great post, so happy to hear that you are back in the running game. Keep up the great work!

  3. Keep it up, stay strong and healthy, and go go go!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

