Perfect Moment.

June 4, 2011 at 11:05 am | Posted in motherhood, My life | 15 Comments

It’s Saturday morning.

I finish my 5 mile run, tired but happy. I’ve run 19 miles in 4 consecutive days – the first time I have ever run that many times in a row.

J and O are at swim lessons, so I luxuriate in the quiet of the house as I stretch. I take a longer shower than usual, knowing that I don’t have anyone downstairs I need to attend to.

At the end of my shower, I hear a knock on the door. It’s O. Daddy and I are going to mow the lawn, he says. We need socks, Mommy.

So I get him socks for both he and his daddy.

And when I go down to join them, O is already outside, getting his toy lawnmower ready.

He fills up the tank as J does.

He turns it on its side to check for grass clumps as J does.

He puts on a mini pair of gardening gloves as J does.

He pulls the string and starts walking back and forth in the grass as J does.

I sit in the sun on the deck, watching my boys, endorphin happy from a good run.

And in this moment?

I love my life.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That IS a perfect morning! Enjoy!

  2. Awesome.

  3. Great moment:>

  4. Love that you are loving your boys. As it should be šŸ™‚

  5. Beautiful! I love your life right now too šŸ™‚ Oh and how I love that endorphin rush. Its the best. ENjoy your beautiful day.

  6. Love days like this. Love that you’re feeling the love.

  7. Perfect, indeed. Today’s such a beautiful day, too. I’m glad you are enjoying it.

  8. what a great post!! Thank you – you have brought a smile to my face, and maybe even a tear to my eye, at the end of a hard day.

    thank you.

  9. Absolutely perfect.

  10. That’s awesome.

  11. Wonderful moment.

  12. Thank you for sharing. What a wonderful moment.

  13. Great moment. Not just that it happened, but that you took the time to savor it, to remember it, and document it here.

  14. Wonderful moment/afternoon. Enjoy it and many more!

  15. Mmmm… love this story šŸ™‚ I can picture it like a movie playing in my head.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

