Friday musings.

August 5, 2011 at 10:21 am | Posted in milestones, motherhood | 10 Comments

I’m going to put it into the internet and furiously cross my fingers that I don’t jinx it.

But O is 95% pee trained on the potty.

He will get up first thing in the morning and go immediately into the bathroom, even though he’s wearing a diaper overnights.

He’s been dry three our of five mornings this week, which is progress.

We need to remind him to sit on the potty, but he’s starting to tell US when he needs to go.

With poop, he’s had a number of successes. But they’ve all been at home. We’re still working on getting him to go at school.

But he’s in underwear about 99% of the time now. He wears a diaper overnight, and I assume one at naptime at school (he has given up the home naps).

But given that exactly a MONTH ago I was ready to declare potty training a big fail?

I will SO take it.

__________________

This morning, when I asked O what he wanted for breakfast, he said, Pancakes.

Since he’s allergic to eggs, pancakes requires a special egg-free recipe. Which truthfully, isn’t THAT HARD to make.

But our mornings are crazy; I’m running around trying to get ready, get our lunches together, get O on the potty before we go, drink my coffee, etc.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve told him that I can’t play with him because I’m doing something that’s Very Important to making sure our day goes smoothly.

So when he asked for pancakes today, I stood there in my pajamas and thought really hard. I needed to shower and make our lunches and do a load of laundry and unload the dishwasher… and… and…

You know what? I’ll just go late if I need to.

So we went downstairs and made pancakes.

On a weekday morning. We sat across from each other and made silly faces and talked about all the fun things we were going to do this coming weekend.

And even though I didn’t get everything accomplished that I needed to this morning?

It didn’t MATTER.

I got to share a meal with my little boy, who is fast growing up right before my eyes.

And that? Made my Friday.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You made pancakes on a weekday? I am hard pressed on any day. You are my new hero.

    Bea

  2. YAY for taking the time to just enjoy O and sit and have pancakes with him. I’m with Bea; you’re my new hero! Hugs to you and O for a wonderful start to your day!

  3. Laundry and clean dishes are really overrated at 7am!

  4. Pancakes on a Friday morning with your son is awesome. Hope it is a great start to a good weekend.

  5. What a great way to start the day!

  6. Pancakes on a Friday sounds awesome.

    I totally agree with the other commenter re: laundry and dishes. They SO don’t need to be done first thing in the morning!

    (And congrats to O. on the potty progress!)
    xoxoxo
    T.

  7. Yay for O and his potty training! And Yay for you and Pancake Friday!

  8. Sounds like a perfect morning to me 🙂

  9. Awesome about the potty training! We’re working on it this afternoon. The other evening I got together with friends, both of whom are parenting (or practically step-parenting) two young girls. Right away we all started bitching about pull-ups.

    And awesome about the pancakes. If it weren’t for Bisquick Shake & Pour ($$$ but convenient), we’d never have pancakes.

  10. Yay for potty training!! 🙂

    I agree — it is so difficult sometimes to step back from our to-do lists and live in the moment. I try to do so but oftentimes find myself torn by the million other things I should be doing or by going through all of the steps to get all of us out the door.

    Great post.

    P.S. I do read — every day! However, I usually read your blog on my phone so I don’t stop and comment enough. Just thought you should know I’m always here lurking. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

