Vacation Run Away!

August 12, 2011 at 11:19 am | Posted in And I ran (I ran so far away) | 4 Comments

Now I have the Go-Go’s song stuck in my head. Great.

We are on vacation on the lake starting tomorrow, so I will likely not post for a week or so.

When we come back, I will be working on the design for my new blog space. I can’t wait.

_______________________

I decided back in the spring that I’d join a clinic run by a town and the local running club. The clinic was geared for half and full marathons.

I was SO nervous. The older I get, the more introverted I’ve gotten, and I just didn’t want to deal with meeting new people.

Is that awful to say?

In the grand scheme of my life, too, I am new to running. Everything I’ve learned to this point has been on my own, just me running harder and faster and to a training program I found online.

So when I went to the first night, and they were doing 200 meter repeats, I found myself LOVING it.

Yesterday’s workout was 1000 meter repeats. Because I had scheduled myself for a pre-vacation haircut, I wasn’t able to make the clinic.

But I went to the gym and used the treadmill instead. And I looked up on the internet that 1000 meters is approximately .62 miles.

So I did 4x1000s on a treadmill at the gym last night. With a quarter mile recovery at 10 minute miles in between.

And I cranked up the speed for the last two intervals to 8.5 mph, which works out to be SEVEN MINUTE MILES.

I ran 1.25 miles at that pace.

Now, granted, it was on a treadmill. It’s always easier to run faster than running outside because you just have to up the rotation on your stride since the ground is essentially moving FOR you.

But my overall pace for the entire run was significantly faster than I’ve ever run at that pace, just running all out.

And I’m starting to GET the concept that with speedwork, you start out fast in short intervals, then increase the distance in your speedwork, then shorten the recovery times.

And BAM! You’ve just set a personal record for a 5K. Or 10K. Etc.

Learning something new makes me happy. And I LOVE that I’m learning about running. That I can be two years into doing this and still have a lot to learn, and a lot of improvement still ahead of me.

Something I thought I’d share with you all.

And tomorrow morning? Marks a pretty significant milestone.

I mapped out a 15 mile route.

Which will be the longest run I’ve ever done. (Like in my whole life.)

And then we get to leave for a cabin on the lake. And a week away from work.

Bliss.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You are a huge inspiration to me with your running and the physical and mental challenges you face. Hope you have a fun, relaxing and overall wonderful vacation!

  2. Happy holidaying!

  3. Hope you’ve had a wonderful, relaxing week!

  4. Thanks for sharing your experience with the running clinic. I’ve been afraid to start up again – getting older, you know. You’ve inspired me to just do it!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

