Better. A Little, Anyway.

August 30, 2011 at 10:50 am | Posted in Cult of Personality | 8 Comments

Thanks all for the insomnia suggestions on my post yesterday.

I still can’t put a finger on WHY I haven’t been able to sleep. I know it’s probably some combination of allergies and low-grade stress over SOMETHING. But I have no idea what.

However. I am tired of not sleeping.

So last night I brought out the Big Guns.

First, I took 3mg of melatonin 1 hour before I thought I might want to go to bed.

Last night, J asked me You haven’t TAKEN anything to help with the sleep issues? For a whole WEEK?

I, uh, might be a little stubborn when it comes to taking a sleep aid. Partly because my alarm rings at 4:30 every morning and I need to run – seriously, today was an 8 miler! – but also partly because I’m terrified of exacerbating my sleep issues with getting addicted to a sleep aid, thereby ruining my sleep FOREVER!

Okay, that might be a little dramatic. Sleep deprivation does it to you.

But my sister RAVES about melatonin. And it’s natural, and not something that would put me to sleep and make me loopy the next morning.

So I took a tablet just before I put O to bed last night.

Second? I went to bed at the FIRST SIGN of sleepiness.

This has been one of my issues, I think, for a couple of weeks now. J is a night owl. I am not.

To compromise, on the days where we go to bed together, I stay up later than I would normally and try not to nag him into bed. (Though honestly, 95% of the time I’m all bitchy, asking Can we go to bed now?)

I noticed on Sunday night that I seemed to get a second wind around 10:30, and from then it was impossible for me to fall asleep. Sucked.

So last night, I got ready for bed as soon as I left O’s room for the night. And as soon as I felt a TINY measure of sleepiness, I went right upstairs and turned off the light.

I seriously felt like I was putting a baby to bed – Don’t miss the sleep window! – but it was my way of attacking the “I can’t FALL asleep” issue.

Finally, I turned my alarm clock around so I really had to crane my neck to see the time just before I turned out the light.

And yes, I woke up nearly as much as I have been waking up over the past week.

But! instead of feeling that vague sense of panic when I realized I was awake, yet again, I just allowed myself to turn over & get comfortable again. I kept my breathing long and slow, willing my mind to slow down and relax.

Consequently, I woke up this morning just before my alarm feeling a lot more refreshed than I have in the past week.

It’s better. Not perfect yet, but much better.

Thank goodness.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sleep makes SUCH a huge difference to mood. I’m married to a night owl, too and get up at 5:30/5:45 to run (but not 4:30, jeez)…so it is important to go to bed early. I’m hoping with a little more sleep training you get some more ZZZ’s. :>

  2. Awesome! I hope it keeps working. I cant believe that you wake up 4;30 to run. You are my super hero!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Glad to hear things are getting better. I didn’t get a chance to comment on the previous post, but I find that my insomnia (other than when I was pregnant) is always either due to my thyroid being off (so my medication needs adjusting) or it is stress related. Once I figure out what I’m stressing about, I can usually sleep again. In the meantime, I focus on hot milk before bed, no exercise or work late in the evening, and relaxation exercises if I do wake up (and then I get out of bed and go downstairs and start reading if I am still awake).

    I am lucky in that Q. usually wants to come to bed at about the same time, as I don’t sleep well if he’s still pottering around the house.

    xoxoxo
    T.
    PS. I cannot believe you get up at 4:30 to run. It blows my mind!

  4. Same as the others about getting up at 4:30 – wow! I don’t usually get to bed until 11:30/12, so that is hard to imagine. (also, doesn’t that mean you’re running in the dark?)

    I don’t have any suggestions for insomnia, but I liked reading everyone else’s. My husband is a terrible sleeper, and he seems to cope in a lot of nonproductive ways: overreliance on cough syrup or Nyquil, getting up in the middle of the night and watching an entire movie before even trying to return to bed, eating whole meals in the middle of the night…

    I’m glad what you’re trying so far is helping. Sometimes I think it is just about breaking a pattern and getting yourself back in the habit of sleeping. Good luck.

  5. Glad you got better sleep. I can only imagine how frustrating waking up and not falling back asleep is on the psyche. Especially when you’re an early bird (like me) and put in a full work out, get yourself and O ready for school/work, and head into the office.
    You know, I was thinking about that… by the time I get into the office I’ve already been up for 3 hours, then it’s a full 9 hour work day, commute home, dinner, bath time for the kids, then bedtime… No wonder I’m so tired at 8pm!
    Also with your increased mileage on the weekdays it just may be that you need to make it a habit to hit the pillow right after you get O to bed. Your body may be craving extra sleep and not getting it… sleep begets sleep ;). LOL.
    Sorry so long, I should have just emailed you!

  6. The early bird/night owl difference is pretty significant. In the latest issue of Redbook (I think) someone gave the tip that when one partner goes to bed, the other person gets into bed at the same time, just to cuddle or chat for a few minutes, but doesn’t have to stay in bed. Sort of a grown-up tucking-in. I thought that was a pretty good idea.

  7. Hope tomorrow’s better again. I have only ever suffered from external interruptions… That’s not true. I can’t sleep when I’m firmly struck with an idea but I have found no cure for that. Sounds like you’re on the right track.

    Bea

  8. I am lucky enough to be a pretty solid sleeper, but LS could insomniac for his nation. You have my sympathies and I hope it settles soon,

    g


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

