Ringing in the New Year…

January 3, 2012 at 10:10 am | Posted in And I ran (I ran so far away) | 2 Comments

… with a fever. Poor O.

We spent an overnight with my BFF and her family, and O seemed fine the whole time. On the way home, though, he started complaining about the fact that his knees and his mouth hurt. (Funnily enough, I knew what he was talking about. Whenever I get sick or I’m overtired, my legs always HURT. Yep, he’s my kid.)

I rang in my new year with a 4 mile race. Since my marathon, I’ve not been able to run much at all from the IT Band tendonitis. Literally I’ve run ONE 4 mile run, and it was really hard. So I was actually a little nervous about finishing this race.

Sort of shocking how quickly I’ve lost all that marathon fitness. *sigh*

But anyway, I met my two girlfriends from my running club and did a 1 mile warmup, then got a good stretch in.

And so I felt pretty good when the race started. So I took off. When the first mile on my garmin beeped, I looked down… and realized I was running WAY too fast.

Which meant by mile 2 I needed to take walk breaks. Short ones, but walk breaks nonetheless.

That said, I finished within a reasonable time for me, and I had NO pain during the race itself. Which was awesome.

So I started my 8 week half marathon training program for the half I’m running at the end of February. The mileage, when I first looked at it, was completely underwhelming. But as it turns out, I was sore today, so 2 miles was really good.

The goal for this half is to avoid injury while I get back into running and build some cross training into my routine. I’ve signed up for an 8 week triathlon swim class which starts on Thursday, so plan for now is swimming 2x a week and strength training (i.e. PT) 1x a week. I think this is doable.

So here we go. New year, new goals.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You make all these goals sound so attainable! I’m thinking *I* can only run 4 miles, but maybe I could get up to a half-marathon in 8 weeks, too. Probably not though :(.

    There’s something appealing about cross-training and the idea of being all-around fit, not just good at one thing. I hope you get back into shape quickly and without injury.

    • I found with my first half that the distance is TOTALLY a mental thing. With every distance I ran, I couldn’t believe I was running that far. Until the next week, when I ran even farther. It’s definitely doable for you, especially if you LIKE running!

      I have a 3 day a week schedule for 16 weeks if you want to train for a half, too. More than happy to share! 🙂

      xoxo


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

