I Guess He’s Getting the Lesson.

January 19, 2012 at 11:09 am | Posted in Mensa (aka: my kid's brilliant, Parenting, schmoop (i.e. why I love my kid) | 6 Comments

O didn’t nap at school yesterday, and he went to bed JUST a little later than we would have liked, since his cousin was over for dinner.

In our house, that usually means he’s up for the day at 4:30, in our bed, whispering is it wake up time yet?

But this morning he slept in.

So I went up to his room at 7:45 to wake him up.

And he was still in bed, motionless. Sleeping.

Except.

Bear was across the room on his rocker.

So I gather Bear up and go over to his bed, telling him that it’s time to get up.

No, Mommy! Bear needs to sit on the chair! He protests.

I ask why.

He wasn’t listening to my words! He made a BIG mess with my remote controls. So he needs to sit on a chair in time out.

Well, okay then.

So I wait a second, then ask if Bear has been in time out for long enough.

Yes, he says. But you need to talk to him.

So I patiently tell Bear that he’s in time out because he wasn’t listening to O’s words, and that he made a mess with the remote controls, and that he needs to make a better choice next time.

O says: Mommy, you forgot to tell him that you love him no matter what.

Okay.

Maybe he IS actually listening to me when I talk sometimes.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Awwww!

  2. OK, this was THE BEST post! Isn’t is awesome when they start to “get it” that was so adorable. But I hope bear makes better choices next time so he doesn’t have to go to time out! πŸ˜‰

  3. That’s just it! He IS listening…he hears EVERYTHING!

  4. Awesome post. My favorite is when I overheard my daughter tell my friend she couldn’t wear dark lipstick when they were playing with makeup. She said her mother said she would look like a putana. LOL!!! I did tell her that!

  5. They do listen…..even when you swear they don’t. He is completely adorable.

  6. I think they’re always listening. And absorbing. And sometimes ignoring πŸ™‚ But always listening.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

