Something To Think About.

May 1, 2012 at 6:55 pm | Posted in Crazy Talk (aka: Therapy) | 3 Comments

Two posts in one day. Crazy.

But reading your comments, you know something?

You’re right.

I think I’m looking at it wrong.

Justine said this. I’m not sure, though, that you’ve lost that creation to science. Because honestly, without you, that particular life would never exist.

Yes.

Okay, so we didn’t get to have sex and make a baby.

But without Charlie and I, our Lucky wouldn’t be. Even if it wasn’t US creating it, he was made by using parts of us.

Maybe that’s how I need to start looking at it.

Thank you, all of you, gently showing me there’s another way to look at it.

I love you all.

xoxo

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. 🙂

    I’d even say the same about a donor embryo … because there is science, and there is life … and one thing we can explain, while the other … is a lot harder to put our fingers on.

    Lucky is one amazing, and LUCKY, little boy.

  2. Both of my babies were created through IVF and I feel no sense of loss at all. Rightly or wrongly, I believe the fact that I battled 4 years of fertility treatments, many failed IUI, and 11 embryo transfers shows that I am a determined Mom. A parent who wasn’t willing to give up just because it didn’t happen in a few months. I am proud of the work I did to bring my children here. I do understand though your sense of loss of intimacy with your husband. All that forced sex and the monthly hope and despair roller coaster did seem to destroy the purely passionate enjoyable sex. That is a loss caused by infertility.

  3. And I think Lucky (and any child) is so much more than a piece of you and a piece of him. Beyond his mere existence, he is HIM because YOU are his mother. You are giving him the experiences and opportunities that shape who he will become.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

