Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night.

May 4, 2012 at 9:16 pm | Posted in Heartbreak | 21 Comments

Hardest thing I’ve ever done, to whisper to my cat, my constant companion since college: Go to sleep, Puck. I love you so much.

He was so mad. They sedated him and he fought it for so long, the sleep.

I didn’t stay to watch his final moments. The vet told me it was probably best, because he was so angry and didn’t want to be there. I said goodbye into the cage, whispered to him that it was okay to go to sleep, and I left.

The vet told me, You are doing the right thing. Whatever is making him sick is bad. We both know that this is best for him.

Still hurts a hell of a lot more than I ever expected.

Was the right choice, though.

Rest in Peace, Puck.

1997 – 2012

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. *sniff, sniff* So sorry for your loss. Big hugs to you. You did do the right thing.

  2. So sorry. We had to do the same thing in January with our cat Ernie. He was 19 years old. You did thee right thing.. hugs!

  3. Oh honey, I’m so sorry. We had to do the same with the Very Bad Dog after Mini was born, and I still cry from missing him sometimes.

  4. It is so,so tough and I am sorry. Sending you hugs and support that you absolutely did the right thing for your furry companion.

  5. I’m so sorry, Serenity. Sending you love, and light for Puck.

  6. I’m sorry… Times like these I wish the right thing to do was also the easy thing. RIP Puck.

  7. That’s really tough but he sounded really sick so I’m sure you did the right thing.

  8. You did do the right thing and I know he had a good life with you. Take care of yourself.

  9. Those of us that have been in your boat understand the level of sadness. These creatures love us, trust us, and are woven into our lives more than many humans are. While it is extremely painful for you, please know you did the best thing you could do for Puck. You loved enough to keep Puck from suffering.

  10. I have been a longtime reader. I am so sorry for your loss. I had to make the same decision 3 years ago for my beloved Casey. She was my baby before I met my husband or struggled to have a baby. She was my constant companion. I miss her to this day. But the pain does subside. That raw, gut wrenching pain you feel now lasted about 2 months for me before I started to feel like myself again. Hugs to you on your journey thru it, but remember that it is worth feeling this badly because you got to have Puck!

  11. I’m so sorry. RIP Puck. My kitty is 16 and is in decline…I’m dreading this day.

  12. I am so, so sorry for your loss. You did the right thing for Puck and it’s heartbreakingly unfair that the right thing can hurt so much.

  13. I’m so, so sorry, S.

  14. I am so sorry. I had to do the same thing for our 13-year old dog and it’s agonizing. Sitting with you.

  15. I am so, so, so sorry Serenity. I am glad you loved him enough not to let him suffer.
    xoxo
    T.

  16. Long time lurker just wanted to say you’re in my thoughts. I can not imagine how I’m going to deal when the time comes for our 11 year old cat. Hugs to you and your fam. How is lucky handling it?

  17. As a fellow cat-lover, I am very sorry for your loss. Wishing you peace.

  18. I am so, so sorry. How heartbreaking, really. Again, so sorry.

  19. I’m so sorry. It’s a brave and difficult decision.

  20. I’m so sorry. 😦

  21. Awww, I’m so sorry. 😦 Sending you (((HUGS))).


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

