The Sick.

June 29, 2012 at 7:02 am | Posted in IVF #6: Quiet Hope | 8 Comments

I’m going to be one of those moms that will take my kid to the amusement park and wait at the bottom of the rides while Lucky and Charlie Brown get to have fun.

Apparently I cannot tolerate anesthesia anymore.

I was pretty sleep deprived yesterday morning; slept like crap the night before, with all sorts of stress dreams interrupting any sort of sleep I got.

So when we got to New Clinic for the retrieval, I was tired and a little “off.”

Told both the nurse and anesthesiologist that I had a pretty bad reaction to the sedation when I had the melancott catheter placed a couple of weeks ago. We all decided it’s because I’m sensitive to motion, and the anesthesiologist gave me a scolpalomine patch behind my ear. Figured that would help.

The retrieval part went well – they got 18 eggs. I woke up in a fair amount of pain (which, as an aside, I told the nurse it was a 3-4 on the pain scale before I actually woke up. No, when I was awake it was more like a 7 or 8. I am tough when I’m sedated!), so she gave me some meds in the IV.

For a little while, I felt okay. Was even talking with Charlie about what we’d have for lunch. Ate crackers, drank ginger ale. No issues.

And then – typical of last time – I started feeling dizzy. The nausea wasn’t bad at all this time, but sitting up was pretty tough.

So my nurse told me to rest for another half hour. I did.

Then I had to use the bathroom, so she helped me up and I went in.

Now, see, the last time I felt crappy after surgery, I didn’t want to be that patient, and instead of pressing the call button, I just laid down on the floor. They were worried.

This time, I was on the toilet, and I got shaky and sweaty, and wasn’t sure I could stand up. So pressed the call button and she helped me back to my bed. Where I rested, AGAIN, for another half hour.

The anesthesiologist came by at the nurse’s request, and it was decided that this is just what my body does – metabolizing the anesthesia makes me sick.

Finally, at 2:30 – a full 5 hours after my retrieval – I felt okay enough to go home.

The wheelchair ride downstairs nearly made me puke, though, and the car ride home was its own hell. I BARELY made it in the door at home and into the bathroom before I lost all the contents of my stomach.

So the rest of yesterday was spent in my bed, trying to sleep it off.

I feel better today, thankfully. And pain-wise, it’s tolerable without any meds, but I took some tylenol this morning since I’m back at work.

I should get our fertilization report today. Really, all we need is one good embryo.

I’ll keep you all posted.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So sorry for the reaction! It is no fun to be sick and in pain! [[Hugs]]

    I hope you feel a lot better today!

    Hoping for a great fert report!

    (BTW–I am that mother who watches while they ride–I used to be able to do so much more, but I get motion sick on Carousels now!)

  2. I’m so glad the retrieval went well, sorry about the pain and awful reaction. Good thoughts for a great report today!!

  3. I don’t know what I would do if that was my reaction to anesthesia! I am so sorry.

    18 eggs! Yippee, you go, super mama! So excited for you and for the upcoming fert report. You did good.

  4. You have my complete sympathy. I felt so awful after my last c-section that I am in terror of ever having surgery again. Ugh!

  5. Ugh, that sounds awful! I can’t believe you went back to work today. I hope you continue to feel okay, though, and that you get a good fertilization report.

  6. Ugh, that’s the worst. I hate anesthesia (& carnival rides) too. Fingers crossed for that one good embryo!

  7. Fingers crossed for a good fertilization report! Hope you continue to recover as fast as your body can manage it.

  8. Thinking of you!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

