Contented.

July 1, 2012 at 7:36 pm | Posted in IVF #6: Quiet Hope | 16 Comments

Charlie and I showed up at New Clinic today at 12:30, as instructed. We were taken back right away, and within 10 minutes a nurse came in and said, somewhat apologetically, We are a little ahead of schedule today. How full is your bladder?

For all our other transfers, we had at LEAST a half hour wait. The last transfer was the worst, actually – the OR was a full HOUR late from our scheduled time. Which meant that we were there for two full hours.

So, of course, I didn’t really have a full bladder at all, but remedied that quickly.

The attending RE said things like fantastic embryo quality and the best one is nearly perfect and you should definitely have a number of frozen embyros.

We transferred two 8 cell embryos today. The first one, the one the attending called an overacheiver, had no fragmentation. The second scored above average for fragmentation as well. Both had been assisted hatched, as they told me this before I even asked.

The catheter, which generally goes into the right horn of my uterus, went to the left today. We actually got to rest for 10 minutes before they told me to get dressed and leave. We were the second of two transfers done today.

As I drove home from my acupuncture appointment this afternoon, I felt…

Happy. Content.

By all rights, this is the nerve-wracking part of the whole cycle. The waiting. I should be nervous. Hopeful. Longing.

Instead, I’m happy.

I’m happy we decided to go for a second opinion at this clinic.

I’m thankful I told my running girlfriend, who told me about this acupuncturist near her house that specializes in fertility treatment.

I’m humbled that we get another chance at this, that we actually HAVE hope this cycle. Real hope. Not just the IDEA of hope.

Charlie told me a couple of nights ago, after we heard about the ridiculous fertilization statistic that he had a lot of hope for this cycle, too. On Thursday he wore a red polo, so today he wore a red t-shirt in the hopes that we’ll keep the good luck going for a little more.

I don’t think my husband has EVER been this hopeful.

Nor have I been, either.

We did the right thing getting another opinion. We did the right thing with trying a new protocol.

And now we wait to see if we get the result we hope for.

Beta is Friday, July 13.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m hoping along with you.

  2. My hope is that your hope comes true. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. You know I have been thinking so much about what a wonderful thing this second opinion has been for you. And how great the fertilization, how it seems to be, I don’t know, just “clicking”. No matter what, I think this was a great way for you both to rediscover the hope.

    Beta on Friday the 13th, sounds like luck is on your side! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’m so happy to read that you are happy. No matter the outcome you did everything you could to make this happen.

  5. Wow, WoW, WOW! Gosh, Serenity, I am beaming with hope and delight for you. You have come so far on this journey, not just that you are here, having transferred two excellent embryos, but in your perspective.

    Willing the wait to breeze by with the most successful outcome. Pulling and willing this for you.

  6. Wow – I can’t tell you how hopeful that’s made me! Will be waiting on the edge of my chair for July 13.

  7. Yay! Thinking of you guys and hoping.

  8. Yay! I hope everything continues to go well. Beta on Friday the 13th… I would be too superstitious for that, but as Delenn said, it seems like luck is on your side this time.

  9. I’m hoping and praying for you guys as well!

  10. Whee! And fingers crossed for the 13th.

  11. Sounds really really great! Fingers crossed here, I’ll be out of the country for your first beta but hope to sneak on the internet to read the news then…

  12. So wonderful and exciting how this cycle is going! And I love that you are feeling happy.

  13. Wishing you lots of luck!!!! Keep the relaxation going!

  14. Fingers crossed. Happy to see you happy!

  15. Such a wonderful, exciting cycle for you. Beta on the 13th…sounds like a great day to me! (the twins 2nd bday is that day, no Friday the 13th issues here!) Hoping, wishing, and praying for you!

  16. Catching up on my blog reading. Good luck Serenity! I just happen to be wearing a red top right now. I see it as hopeful omen ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

