Halfway.

July 8, 2012 at 3:25 pm | Posted in IVF #6: Quiet Hope | 10 Comments

My nerdy IVF spreadsheet has me at 10dpo today. (I’ve had one for every cycle. I deleted all of my old ones back in May when I decided we were done with ART forever, but I managed to find a copy of the one I kept when I was pregnant with Lucky recently and have been keeping track there.)

It’s always surprising how quickly that first week goes by. It’s like the whole 2ww slows down the closer you get to your beta, or something.

But anyway.

I got a call from my nurse on Friday that we had 5 blasts of good enough quality to freeze.

Which means I can say with certainty that I will never do another retrieval again, thank the powers that be. This time around was rough going – so, so sick from anesthesia. Twice – one from the melancott catheter, then the other from the retrieval. Meh.

I have been telling the few people who know we are cycling that I’ve been looking for signs to stop. The puke-fest, even with the scopalomine patch after my retrieval, made it clear to me. Apparently 6 fresh cycles is my limit, physically speaking.

5 frozen blastocysts, though, means that we have FIVE more frozen cycles if I wanted. Which, honestly, I don’t KNOW if I want. But at least I have the option, right?

Symptom-wise, I don’t really have much that could be directly attributed to a successful outcome. I’m bloated. My boobs are sore. I’m constipated. That’s really all par for the course with a typical 2ww for me.

That said? I did start breaking out on my chest over the weekend. Which, in my experience, has been a pregnancy indicator. I had the same thing around 7-8dpo with Lucky’s cycle, and then again immediately after he was born. It looks like a rash of sorts – tiny bumps, almost like baby acne. Starts on my chest and ends up on my face a couple of days later.

All our other cycles it hasn’t appeared.

But I have it now.

That said, we DID go camping this weekend, it was wicked freaking hot and we were in the sun a lot and I used sunscreen and bug spray and didn’t shower for four days. And Lucky got a similar rash on HIS chest; heat-related, I think. So it might not be related to the cycle.

Still, though, I have a lot of hope for the next couple of days.

And I am still really happy that we decided to go and get another opinion. I have nothing but good things to say about New Clinic. The way New RE has approached this cycle has been measured and backed up with research. We were one of two couples in the retrieval and transfer room. We have better quality results with them than we EVER did with Big City Clinic, even 5 years ago – BEFORE I was advanced maternal age.

I’m not disappointed that we stayed with Big City Clinic for so long. They gave us our Lucky. Our gorgeous, sweet, curious, amazing little boy. That counts for so much, in my book.

The big thing for me is I no longer have any QUESTIONS. I now have confidence that we have done everything possible to add to our family, no matter what happens.

Still, though.

I hope.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I hope to. I hope the rest of the 2WW goes by quickly and at the end you get your BFP. I hope, I hope, I hope!

  2. I was just thinking about you and trying to remember exactly when your transfer was. It sounds like it feels like you have some answers. Hope the next week flies by, and keeping everything crossed for you šŸ™‚

  3. Hmmm…maybe it’s not a heat rash and Lucky has sympathy symptoms. šŸ™‚ Hoping for good things for you.

  4. I am hoping while down under. Everything is crossed.
    xoxo
    T.

  5. Hope is a beautiful thing!

  6. Wishing you lots of luck!!!

  7. Hoping with you.

  8. Here is the question – do you usually get a rash like that if you go camping and don’t shower? If not, well, then, it’s looking good.
    Fingers crossed for you!

  9. But it sounds like it’s a good kind of hope, no? Fingers, toes and everything crossed. And hoping with you, too.

  10. […] Life and critical illness insurance and stay at home mothers. » Get Online MoneyHalfway. […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

