#Microblog Mondays 1: Writing It Down.

September 8, 2014 at 6:17 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 13 Comments

Microblog_Mondays

(Not sure what #MicroblogMondays is? Read the inaugural post which explains the idea and how you can participate too.)

I have always hated the question, What do you do for a living?

I’m embarrassed to tell people I’m an accountant, because they immediately assume I am good at math and love numbers, and that is a BIG lie. I was a solid C average math student; the girl who wrote poetry about how much I hated my math class in high school. The girl who took Intro to Linguistic Theory in college to satisfy my “math” requirement.

I feel fidgety and uneasy when I talk about my chosen career.

And until this summer, I’ve been telling myself I really don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.

But I do know.

I don’t know how I’m going to get there, but I know what I want to be.

When someone asks me what I do for a living, I want the answer to be this.

I am a writer.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Me too!!!

    I hope you’ll be able to say that one day ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Me too. But I am scared to really say it out loud. Good for you for being brave!

  3. *MY* sentiments exactly. I am not an accountant but I did bookkeeping and related office functions for years. I work in a different industry now and have slightly different duties, but it still doesn’t revolve around writing. But, someday it shall.

    And I hope the same for you.

  4. Ah, I hate that question too! Good for you for saying it out loud and good luck!

  5. What lovely post. I WISH I could say that as well. I never feel confident enough in anything I write to show it to anyone.

  6. You ARE a writer. I love this post.

    And I’ll admit, I always assumed you were good at math due to your job. See, a helpful post too because it will stop all of us from assuming we know what someone else’s job entails.

  7. I was totally there several years ago! I was managing an Accounting team for a large bank, and worked the accounting end of a bank merger. It was horrible. Also, I was shit at math. Accoutnting isn’t math. It’s putting stuff where it belongs, mostly, and letting the calculators do the math. It’s knowing GLs and rules and a lot of BS. Or maybe that’s just my take, haha!

    I’m glad you’re writing. And nice to meet you. Found you via the linkup. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’ll say it too. You ARE a writer. And I’ve been saying that I was still trying to figure out what I wanted to be when I grew up for years. Maybe though, like you, I knew all along?

  9. I am envious that you know what you would LIKE to be doing. I am in accounting as well and it’s ok for me – I’m good at it, I’m paid well and I’m treated well – but it’s not where my heart is. Unfortunately though I don’t know what I would rather be doing other than something more creative. I dabble in writing, photography, cooking, and a few other creative things but I just don’t know exactly where I would like to focus to change to a more satisfying career. Knowing what you want to be is a big step in the right direction to getting there.

  10. Oh my god, you read my thoughts. I’m an accountant too. I have been wishing I wasn’t again recently, but am too damn risk-averse to make a move. So timely that I connected with you!

  11. Me too! I’ve been in an accounting position for 6 years and love what I do, but I am not the best at math. thankfully the computers do the adding for me. And I only work in a specific part of “accounting”. it doesn’t mean I know everything.

  12. I have recently met two accounts in real life, and both of them hated math in school, and one has experience in theatre, the other sings in a funk group. His instrument: ukulele. Now, after reading your post, I came to have such high expectations of accountants! ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck!

  13. […] Serenity Now! […]


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.